SGI IRIS 3130 Joins the Collection

Silicon Graphics Inc., more commonly known as SGI, produced a series of 3D graphics hardware architectures beginning in the mid 1980s. Their first product line was the IRIS series of terminals and workstations based on the Motorola 68000 processor. Over the years that I’ve been building the collection for my museum of computer graphics history, I’ve managed to obtain most of the SGI product line except for the first generation IRIS machines and the Fuel and Tezro which are still too expensive. Recently I came across an opportunity to get an SGI IRIS 3130. This is the largest model in the IRIS product line which consists of the IRIS 1000, IRIS 2000 and IRIS 3000 series machines. The IRIS machines were featured in an episode of Computer Chronicles from April 5th, 1984. I’ve got some pictures of the IRIS 3130 I’ve acquired on picasaweb.

5 Responses to “SGI IRIS 3130 Joins the Collection”

  1. Andy Says:

    When is this museum opening? I keep waiting..

    Like

  2. legalize Says:

    You can get a walking tour anytime you’re in Salt Lake City by sending me an email.

    Currently the equipment is stored in a warehouse and on display in what would best be called “visible storage”. So, not too exciting since nothing is powered on and its basically just visible equipment. I currently rent the space housing the collection, so I’m reluctant to invest in infrastructure like a real machine room, appropriate HVAC, electrical feeds, etc. There are plans to relocate to a more permanent location where investing in such things makes more sense because we have a mortgage instead of just a lease. That’s when we will start having more interactive exhibits and operating equipment.

    Like

  3. Dan Roganti Says:

    that’s very impressive !!
    I’ve been very interested in computer graphics for a long time and always enjoy reading about the history.

    Like

  4. Warren Atkins Says:

    i have a SGI 3130 that I bought in 1985, still runs, it has Alias Research (know Autodesk Alias Automotive) running on it. Very pricey then. I also have the Lyon-Lamb animation controllers. If you know of anyone that would be interested give them my email. Warren

    Like

    • legalize Says:

      Warren, I sent you a private email but haven’t heard back from you. Please check your spam folder :-). If you can’t find it, I can send it again.

      Like


Leave a Reply

