Creating Panoramas with hugin

I recently learned about hugin, an open source tool for creating panorama images from a series of still photos.

I experimented with it by revisiting my lava field photographs and creating some panoramas. The camera parameters are only guesses, so these panoramas aren’t the best that they could be, but they’re pretty damn good for first attempts.

I took a large amount of “pan and scan” video footage of sculpted facades of Mayan buildings on my trip to the Yucatan. It looks to me like hugin might be just the tool I’ve been looking for to stitch those video resolution frames together into a single high resolution texture.

The hugin web site also has a tutorial for how to combine partial scans of large images into a single whole image. This will be useful when scanning vintage computing documentation containing large circuit diagrams.

Leave a Reply

