Direct3D Graphics Pipeline Update

Its been quite a while since I uploaded a new version of the draft of my book. Rest assured, I’m still working on the book and I really do plan on finishing it someday! However, I’ve gotten some feedback that the installer for the samples will sometimes fail. Since I haven’t gotten any detailed log files back from anyone who experienced the failure, I’ve been trying to figure out how to diagnose the problem and correct it. The samples also needed updating to Visual Studio .NET 2005 — and I guess now they’ll need updating to Visual Studio .NET 2008! So I’ve been working on my installer code by fitting unit tests to the code in an attempt to find the underlying problem that people have reported. My manual testing with old versions of Windows (that need updating of their DirectX runtime) with VMWare haven’t reproduced the problem that people have described, so I’m hoping that fitting everything in the installer with unit tests will help me identify the problem. I’ll also be converting the installer for the sample code to use WiX (Windows Installer XML) instead of the deployment project type in Visual Studio. This will make the installer more robust and will eliminate the script hackiness I had to do in my white paper. It will also make the installer source accessible to people who don’t have the Professional edition of Visual Studio since it will use only free tools. Once all the samples and source have been appropriately updated, I’ll go back to incorporating 9.0c changes into my manuscript.

2 Responses to “Direct3D Graphics Pipeline Update”

  1. GameDev.net User Says:

    I’ve only read a few chapters, but it seems like a very good book!

    Like

  2. VirginiaA Says:

    2.14 Multiple Monitors may be in error to state that “secondary adapters that do not participate in the desktop may also be attached to the system.” I wish this were true!

    Although documentation titled “Using Multiple Monitors as Independent Displays” still exists in the MSDN library and asserts that DirectDrawCreate could be used on such a monitor, I believe it only works in WinCE. DDENUM_DETACHEDSECONDARYDEVICES does not work on XP.

    In response to a bug report I submitted in July 2006, I was told by a Microsoft developer support person that “this is intentionally disallowed for security reasons.”

    Like


Leave a Reply

